Sunday, June 16, 2013

Emmett wins Streets of Sligo 5k in sprint finish

An exciting sprint between Sligo AC's Emmett Dunleavy and Roger Barrett Of Ballina AC was a fitting finale to The Sligo Champion Streets of Sligo 5k road race this afternoon.

Some 450 runners and walkers took part in ideal running conditions with many personal bests being set.

A highlight of this year's event was the large number of athletes from clubs outside Sligo who took part.

A large crowd at the finish in O'Connell Street saw Emmett hold on by just a second to claim the title for the first time in the third annual running of the event, held in conjunction with Sligo AC.

Emmett won in 15.09 with Roger Barrett of Ballina AC in second with a time of 15:10. Third was Liam Feely of North Leitrim AC, last year's winner, in 15.31.

First woman home was leading Irish runner, Teresa McGloin from Finn Valley, who ran 16.48 and was ahead of Sligo AC's Mari Johnston in 18.35 and Catriona Higgins of Sportsworld third in 18.50.

Sligo AC did well also in the team events. The senior men's team of Emmett Dunleavy, Richard Gorman, Jonathan Hill and Ultan McNasser were victorious as was the club's master team of Seamus Somers, Mel Casserly, Danny Hannon and Paul Deering.

The senior women's honours went to North Sligo AC's Aisling Van Rensburg, Sarah Healy, Patricia McCosker and Andrea Horgan.

Sligo AC were the master women champions with Mari Johnston leading home her team followed by Catherine Bradley, Deirdre Deering and Cathy McCarthy.

The category winners were:

Overall First Male: Emmett Dunleavy in 15.09
Overall First Female: Teresa McGloin of Finn Valley in 16.48

Senior Male:
First was Roger Barrett Ballina AC in 15.10
Second: Liam Feely North Leitrim AC in 15.31
Third: Eamon McAndrew, Sligo Tri Club in 15.48

Senior female:
First: Catriona Higgins of Sportsworld in 18.50
Second: Aisling Van Rensburg of North Sligo AC in 18.54
Third: Sarah Healy of North Sligo AC in 1924

Male over 40:
First:Seamus Somers Sligo AC in 16.30
Second: Paul Ward Tir Chonaill AC in 16.42
Third:Thomas Kelly North Sligo AC in 17.04

Female over 40:
First: Mari Johnston Sligo AC in 18.35
Second: Monica Henry of South Sligo AC 19.58
Third: Lorraine Hosey of South Sligo AC in 20.07

Male over 45:
First: Derek Hunter in 17.50
Second: Paul McGrath of South Sligo AC in 18:34
Third: Brendan Brett of South Sligo AC in 18:49

Female over 45
First: Ann Hunter in 20.42
Second: Catherine Bradley of Sligo AC in 21.10
Third: Linda Ward in 21.36

Male over 50
First Danny Hannon of Sligo AC in 17.10
Second: Michael Clancy of Sligo AC 19.50

Female over 50
First: Geraldine McWeeney in 21.57
Second: Mary Furey of Tireragh AC in 22.03

Male over 60 winner: Vincent Flannery in 19.51
Female over 60 winner: Olivia Seery in 28.47

First male junior: Alex Hunter in 17.37
First female junior: Tara Carty of Sligo AC

Results can be found here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please be nice :)