Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Sligo AC Athletes compete in Spar Great Ireland Run!

A beautiful day and the humid conditions to go with it made Sundays 10k Great Ireland Run a great spectacle but tough on the competitors. Charlotte Purdue despite having ran the fastest five kilometres leg for her Aldershot club in the English National Road Relays the previous day, trounced her rivals when winning the womens race in a time of 32 minutes 42 seconds. Sligo's Mary Cullen, back after a short layoff, was disappointed with her time clocking 34.22 which was well short of her usual standard.
J.Espana produced a lethal finish in the final 1200 metres to clinch the men's title in a time of 29min 26sec ahead of Finland's Jussi Utriainen and Ireland's Martin Fagan. The Spaniard was content to follow the pace particularly when defending champion Fagan took charge in the second half of the race which saw the demise of the highly fancied Sergey Lebid of Ukraine and Portugal's Rui Silva. Sligo AC was well represented in both the mens and womens events with results listed below, well done to all who took part from all at the club!

Seamus Somers 00:36:33 Mel Casserly 00:37:22 Alan Kearns 00:38:42 Trevor Hunter 00:39:04 Jason Mc Morrow 00:39:07 Damien Kennedy 00:39:37 Enda Dineen 00:39:58 Declan Foley 00:40:41 Rory Connor 00:41:38 Aoife Quigley 00:44:13 Vanessa Foley 00:51:07 Linda Higgins 00:51:12 Fintan Conlon 00:51:46 Aishling Kennedy 00:53:02 Bernie Flynn 00:53:52 Sheila Lehany 00:53:56 Sharon Dineen 00:54:06 Rosie Friel 00:55:41 Aisling Gillen 00:55:49 Jill Connor 00:59:08

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please be nice :)