Monday, March 21, 2011

Tubbercurry 10k Race Report

Tubbercurry's 38th Annual Road Race took place as usual on St. Patricks day and once again all participants were blessed with fine weather and great racing conditions. The added factor of this race being included in the new Credit Union Sligo Road Race Series added to the excitement before the event was underway. All local clubs were represented including Sligo AC, North Sligo, South Sligo, Mayo AC, Ballina AC and Tir Connaill and as such it promised to show a good battle for honours up front. Roger Barrett (Ballina AC) was the eventual victor crossing the line in 32.50 followed by road racing veteran John Byrne (Mayo AC) in second; 33.40. North Sligo's Phelim McGowan showed his obvious talent coming in third in a time of 34.12, a great result for this young athlete. Tir Connaill's Paul Ward closely followed hot on the heels of McGowan in a time of 34.19 and North Sligo's Thomas McBride took fifth place in a time of 34.41. A selection of the Sligo AC athletes that took part are as follows, Alan Kearins, Trevor Hunter, Rory Connor, Paul Deering, Willie Parke, Brendan Mullen, Dermot Cunningham, Deirdre Deering, Pauline Henry and Sheila Lehany. In the team event North Sligo took the mens honours whilst Sligo AC's female athletes took the womens title. This team was lead home by Rosanne Mitchell in a great time of 40.31 followed by Mari Johnson (41.21), Cindy McCarthy (43.55) and Corina Clarke (48.13). Deirdre Deering followed closely (48.18) ensuring the Sligo AC's womens had this title in the bag. Well done to them and to all club athletes who competed!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please be nice :)