Monday, June 7, 2010

Sligo Athletic Club News: Athletes shine on national stage!

The All-Ireland schools championships were held in Tullamore, Co.Offaly, last weekend where a number of Sligo A.C athletes took part representing their various schools. Perhaps the highest profile victory went to Grammar school student Tommy Casey (centre) who competed in the senior 1500 metres. Eyewitness accounts stated that after the opening three laps, Casey easily distanced himself from the rest of the chasing pack to cross the line in a new personal best of 3.59:11 whilst becoming the 2010 Senior schools champion over 1500m. Dylan Carty, also from Sligo Grammar school, competed in the Junior 1200m walk finishing a brilliant second in a time of 5.45:23 whilst Anna Bednorz (Mercy Convent) jumped a distance of 11.13 metres taking silver in the Intermediate triple jump. Other athletes who took part in various disciplines were Anna Reddin, Rachel Kilgallon, Aisham Patil & James McGeough. Well done to all! Elsewhere Sligo AC's Lucy Brennan once again put our Club on the national stage taking first place in the 2010 Cork City marathon in a time of 2.54.41. This was Lucy's third time to stand on the winners podium in Cork & in her current form she's very likely to add to this victory of the coming summer season. Ballinamore Open Sports events took place over the weekend (bank holiday monday) with Sligo AC's juveniles taking part. Dylan Carty, fresh from his exploits in the national schools, took gold in his walking event, Nadine Deering won gold in the under-10 80 metres whilst also picking up bronze in the 300m whilst her sister Amy won two silver in the under-8 60 and 80 metres, great results for these two young athletes. Closer to home, a small contingent of Sligo AC athletes made the trip northwards to compete in the Donegal town 5k. James McAlister (Belfast) won the race outright in humid conditions in a time of 14.52. Sligo AC athletes fared out as follows; U McNasser (16.40) M Casserly (17.35) R Connor (18.56) D Byrne (19.41) C McCarthy (20.08) E Reddin (20.41) and W Parke (21.08). Well done to all who competed!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please be nice :)