Saturday, May 8, 2010

Large numbers of Sligo AC turn out for Ballyshannon 5k!

The evening remained bright and slightly breezy as the field of 116 athletes toed the line on the outskirts of Ballyshannon town for race two in the Donegal Athletic Board grand prix. From the off the pace was fast with Letterkenny AC atheletes quickly taking the lead. Hardy veterans, the like's of Neil Faulkner, were quickly dropped as the eventual winner, Ciaran Doherty, kept the furious momentum going. 15 Sligo AC athletes made the trip up to compete & host club Tir Conaill AC made sure that all went home content (some with pb's) once again organising a quality course, stewarding and mammoth refreshments afterwards! The winner, ciaran doherty (letterkenny AC) finished in a pacey 15:11 with 2nd place going to clubmate ivan toner in 15:46 whilst 3rd went to brian thursby-phelm in 16:06 also of letterkenny AC. Sligo AC athletes finished as follows, 7th: ultan mcnasser - 16:31. 8th: alan kearins - 16:41. 12th: michael gilroy - 17:17. 14th: mel casserly - 17:21. 16th: stevie finnegan - 17:23. 19th: christy mcpartland - 17:52. 25th: rory connor - 18:27. 26th: mark burns - 18:27. 39th: declan byrne - 19:25. 43rd: john foy - 19:53. 45th: cindy mcarthy - 19:55. 69th: bernadette gilroy - 22:04. 88th: laura o'shea - 24:49. 93rd: martina sherlock - 25:27. 94th: jill connor - 25:36. Well done to all athletes who took part, this will set them up nicely for the Sligo 8k which takes place on Saturday 15th May at 6pm in Rosses Point. Registration is on and all can also register from 4pm on the day at RossesPoint Yacht Club.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please be nice :)