Wednesday, March 17, 2010

Tubbercurry 10k: M O'Connell reports...

A sizable crowd of 136 athletes toed the line for the 37th annual Tubbercurry 10k held each year on St. Patricks day. The race got under way at 12.30 after a minutes silence in memory of some local figures who had died in the previous week. From the off Emmet Dunleavy (Sligo AC) and John Byrne (Mayo AC) pushed ahead & by the kilometre mark had a small group of 5 athletes up front jostling for first position. In the end Dunleavy won it comfortably in 32.58 with Byrne coming home strongly in second spot. The leading lady was once again Lucy Brennan in 38.15 who was well clear of Mari Johnson in 2nd place. Desi Foley came home in 36.04 with Ultan Mc Nasser hot on his heels in 36.10 followed by Neal Higgins in 37.16. Well done to Steve Finnegan who edged out his sligo team mate Karl Boyce to win the 0/45 in 37.37. Mayo won the mens team prize. Finally,congrats to Roseanne Mitchell who won the F/40 in 45.19 and was part of the winning Sligo ladies team which included Lucy,Cathy Mc Carthy and Sonia O Connell. Many athletic observers did comment on the number of easter eggs won by Sligo runners on the day!! Next up is the Connacht Senior Cross Country on Sunday where all eligible runners should take part.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please be nice :)